Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Raymond Souster Award

Congratulations to John Wall Barger!

"The League of Canadian Poets (LCP) is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2013 Raymond Souster, Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards. Congratulations to the authors for their fine submissions and many thanks to the jurors for their hard work on this year’s awards."

Winners of these awards will be announced during a special ceremony at the annual LCP Poetry Fest and Conference to be held at the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in downtown Toronto on June 8, 2013.

Raymond Souster Award:
The Raymond Souster Award is given for a book of poetry by a League of Canadian Poets member published in the preceding year. The award honours the late Raymond Souster, an early founder of the League of Canadian Poets. The award carries a $1,000 prize.

Hummingbird by John Wall Barger (Palimpsest Press)
the Flicker tree: Okanagan Poems by Nancy Holmes (Ronsdale Press)
Wayworn Wooden Floors by Mark Lavorato (The Porcupine’s Quill)
Between Dusk and Night by Emily McGiffin (Brick Books)
The New Measures by A.F. Moritz (House of Anansi Press Inc.)
no ordinary place by Pamela Porter (Ronsdale Press)